creativecloudfix

float across for your creative fix

Open Studios Event

I’ve had the most intense week ever! And it all finished with a bang yesterday, as I coordinated a fantastic event at Coughton Court to tie in with Warwickshire Open Studios. Three artists came to Coughton to sketch and paint in the grounds and I looked after them for the day! I had a fantastic time, and I couldn’t have asked for better weather. Thousands of people turned up to enjoy the National Trust house and stroll round the gardens so it was a great opportunity for artists to use the property to promote their own work and the purpose of Warwickshire Open Studios.

ImageSunny day at Coughton Court!

Warwickshire Open Studios lets local artists and designers open up their own studios to the public, and to also work together with other venues to host their work. Now an annual event, it has grown to become the country’s largest exhibition of art and craft. I heard about Open Studios last year, so I’m very lucky to actually be involved with it this year. Not only has it allowed me to work with artists and promote their work, but it has also allowed me to become inspired to do my own art again.

The three artists I worked with each had their own unique style and techniques, so it was great to see a variety of work produced on the day. Later this week I shall talk about each individual artist in more detail, as it was so interesting to talk to them and understand their methods.

Image

IMG_2892

Michala Gyetvai, Deborah Dutton and Tom Shepherd spent all day outside being inspired by the surrounding environment, and the public were given the chance to talk to the artists and find out more about Open Studios. I took lots of photographs of their work which might also be shown through the National Trust Facebook page by the end of the week.

IMG_2894 IMG_2896 IMG_2897 IMG_2907 IMG_2911 IMG_2912 IMG_2913 IMG_2914 IMG_2915 IMG_2916 IMG_2917 IMG_2918 IMG_2920 IMG_2924

Overall, a fantastic day and even though I was initially stressed at coordinating such an event, I am glad I put in 110% effort and made sure it all went ahead. But it couldn’t have happened without the effort of Tom, Deborah and Michala, so a big thank you to them for coming to Coughton! And a final thank you to Jo Powers of Warwickshire Open Studios, who I have been corresponding with for the past few weeks to make sure this all went ahead.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Open Studios Event

  1. Hi Kerry, Thanks for organising…great day!!

Leave a Reply

