creativecloudfix

float across for your creative fix

My work…

Strike a pose!

It’s been a long time coming. I know you’re probably curious about what I produce myself. Well, I’ve illustrated for quite a few years. I studied ceramics alongside other media at Art School back in 2004-2005 and I’ve always written stories since I was very young. The two became quite united in later years, as I wrote and illustrated the stories myself. I thought I would share some of the pieces I produced.

One of the larger pieces from the stories I illustrated! I would like to add, that these were horror stories! These pieces were all exhibited, but I refused to sell them.

A bit grim I know! The story itself was very dark and allowed me to create some shocking imagery. I like to challenge the reader with images that thread through the story, drawing the words further.

I enjoy playing on fears through imagery. For me, the idea of the anthropomorphism of animals is terrifying. There is something quite savage and unsettling in envisaging animals acting human.

I used plenty of symbols throughout this particular story- (the title of which will be kept secret!) and I particularly like keys. I produced lots of drawings of various different styles of keys throughout the exhibition and produced some in clay too.

Alongside producing exhibitions of my work I also did modelling and I am happy to announce that I have been asked to do modelling again! I shall be modelling over summer in Stratford, which I’m very excited about.

As well as all this, there has been huge progression career-wise in my life and I’m going to keep tight-lipped about what is in store, but I’m so thrilled about what is going to be happening over the next few months! I’ve been given such amazing support from my friends, and I wouldn’t be able to do any of this without them.

Even though the past three months in Stratford have been a bit difficult, I’ve put it all behind me. These things happen for a reason don’t they? Obviously some things are sent to try us. Me and my friends just laugh about it now. I’m a much stronger person because of it, and I am inviting normal, happy people into my life. Negative people can infect your life and try and pull you down with them, they make you cry and feel ill, so its good to surround yourself with like-minded people who can bring you happiness and support you. Now that I’m happy I feel the need to draw and paint again, and I feel almost like a new person! Maybe I was asleep for the past three months hey? Or in a nightmare!

A very close friend of mine (who was also my boyfriend for seven years!) reminded me today about what really matters- good friends!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My work…

  1. Fantastic – love your illustrated stories. How exciting – will you keep us updated?

  2. Thank you Richard, that means a lot! I shall definitely try to keep everyone updated. My life seems to be chaos at the moment. I need some order in my life haha!

Leave a Reply

