creativecloudfix

float across for your creative fix

Keep dreaming- the beautiful work of Catrin Welz-Stein

On my quest for searching for the whimsical, I came across the fantastic work of Catrin Welz-Stein.

As a child Catrin loved to draw and be creative. She says of her childhood “I was almost born with a pencil in my hand…I knew I wanted to do something related to the arts.” After graduating from a Graphic Design course in Darmstadt, Germany, she then worked for different advertising agencies in Germany, the USA and Switzerland.

She stopped working in agencies after becoming a mother, and after a short time of being self employed, decided to stop working until her children grew older. Because of her children (4 and 6 years old) she felt she could revisit her own childhood again and enjoy the world of fantasy and fairy tales.

For her inspiration Catrin says “I like to look at children’s books and let them inspire me. Where the wild things are by Maurice Sendak is a favourite.” Through these books, she rediscovered her love for fantasy and rediscovered her love for illustration once again.

Chasing the Moon

The Business Men’s Goodbye

Journey to the East

Man in Tree

Frau Holle

Fantasy, children stories, the medieval, Jugendstil, Folklore and Surrealism all inspire Catrin to produce these pieces. Her images are all digitally made. Catrin begins by collecting old images and illustrations and putting them into new combinations together in Photoshop. The working process is based on combining and dividing photographs, with removing, filling and retouching.

She says of this process, “using digital medium I have far more creative possibilities and I can work much faster then on the canvas. Perhaps, my skills have been formed during the long years of working in front of my computer. Thanks to all that I can create my art best in digital.”

These works take me to new worlds, I absolutely adore the imagery Catrin has used. As a huge fan of surrealism, the dream-like quality and soft focus that flits across the image, intrigues and dazzles the senses. There is a feeling of perpetual calmness, even though the imagery is strange and disconcerting.

Absorbed within her works, is her great skill in both combining symbols and techniques to forge new combinations. As digital art reaches new levels and popularity within the art world, I look forward to viewing works such as these, in the future.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Keep dreaming- the beautiful work of Catrin Welz-Stein

  1. Oh my they are amazing!

  2. Oooh. Ahhhh. My favorite is Frau Holle.

  3. Absolutely beautiful!!! Wish I could use photoshop like this!!

Leave a Reply

