creativecloudfix

float across for your creative fix

The work of Pietari Posti

After recently re-reading the fantastic book Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome, I’ve been re-visiting childhood stories and novels for the past few weeks.The amazing thing about working in a library is that I have access to all those forgotten favourites! But the other great thing about picking up these stories, is that they have new front cover designs for the re-printed editions.

Illustration by Posti from Bellaciao Book by Michel Lagarde publishing.

And so, through reading Swallows and Amazons, I have been introduced to the illustrative work of Pietari Posti, a Finnish illustrator, graphic designer and artist. Posti lives in Barcelona, Spain and his work has been featured in the 3×3 Professional Illustration Annual, PRINT Magazine European Design Annual and American Illustration 27 & 28, Illustration Now 3 and many other publications.

Front cover to the 2012 re-print edition of Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome.

What I didn’t realise till I started to read the book, was that Arthur Ransome actually wrote a whole series of them which detail many different adventures that the children have over their holidays. I’m now reading the second book in the series Swallowdale. I know they are children’s stories, but they’re highly addictive!

At the moment there seems to be a whole ‘vintage re-printing’ theme happening with classic novels. Having a browse of such titles by Jules Verne and Frank Baum reveals some fantastic new illustrative work which really appeals to my quirky taste.

CB-Smith

penguin books + dana tanamachi

Having a look through local bookshops, I can really see this trend setting in! It’s a great way for new illustrators to make their work recognised. It has also made me aware of new artwork appearing, such as the work of Posti. Here are some more examples of his work such as this amazing set of bookmarks:

I particularly like how Posti uses simple line drawing to create his pieces. Colours work together magnificently to open up the designs, with great interplay between black and white.

I’m going to be keeping my eye out for more illustrative work while I’m re-reading the classics!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The work of Pietari Posti

Leave a Reply

