creativecloudfix

float across for your creative fix

Where have I been?

So, as you might have realised, I’ve been away from blogging for a while. I’ve got a very good reason for this, I promise! This week I started working at another place (yes, as you have probably guessed by now, I work at numerous places and for numerous people) which I have devoted myself to for the past few days. And here is where it is…

Pretty good eh? This is the Stratford-upon-Avon Library. It looks very Tudor-esk but its actually quite modern. There is a bit of history surrounding the building as it is actually a Carnegie Library- which means it was built with money donated by the Scottish-American philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Amazingly, over 2,000 Carnegie Libraries were built between 1883 and 1929 with over 650 in Britain alone!

Parts of the structure are very old, but most of the building was actually reconstructed and is of 19th C origin. Inside its very modern and has lovely areas you can hide away in- I particularly like upstairs where they keep the maps. I have a thing about old maps.

Anyhoo, I got to see a lot more than the public did. I’ve even been into the basement which is apparently haunted. Staff have reported smelling cigar smoke and all sorts, so I’ll let you know if I come across any ghosts!

There are lots of little wooden staircases running here there and everywhere, but I got my bearings by the end of the week. The people who work there are lovely and they’ve helped me to settle in. I’ve already got to grips with all the technology side of things, but practice makes perfect. The other amazing thing about the building is the fact that the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust properties are so close- in fact Shakespeare’s house is pretty much next door. As well as the cute giftshop. My wages are going to be spent there that’s for sure!

So, that’s my excuse for being absent this week. I’ve got plenty to blog about over the next few days though including a visit to a museum, some recent Roman archaeological finds, and a new vintage shop (including an interview with the owner). It will be worth the wait ;).

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Where have I been?

  1. Wow! Fantastic-looking library. Wish they made ours with that kind of atmosphere! 😉 (Actually, some of our libraries were like that.)

    • It’s gorgeous isn’t it? I’m really lucky to be there at the moment and the public seem to love it too. Some of the new libraries springing up do have their own unique atmosphere too- that’s why I like The Hive in Worcester 🙂 which libraries are local to you? I know libraries from all across the world as people I know have decided to work abroad.

Leave a Reply

